ArizonaShooting.com

"The #1 Resource for Shooters in Arizona!"
It is currently 23 Oct 2014, 08:27


All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Custom Search





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Nevada General Firearms Laws
New postPosted: 30 Apr 2009, 18:19 
Offline
AZS is my home
AZS is my home
User avatar

Joined: 03 Dec 2005, 18:58
Posts: 10924
Location: West Valley, Arizona
WEAPONS
Dangerous Weapons and Firearms
NRS 202.253 Definitions. As used in NRS 202.253 to 202.369, inclusive:
1. “Explosive or incendiary device” means any explosive or incendiary material or substance that has been constructed, altered, packaged or arranged in such a manner that its ordinary use would cause destruction or injury to life or property.
2. “Firearm” means any device designed to be used as a weapon from which a projectile may be expelled through the barrel by the force of any explosion or other form of combustion.
3. “Firearm capable of being concealed upon the person” applies to and includes all firearms having a barrel less than 12 inches in length.
4. “Motor vehicle” means every vehicle that is self-propelled.
(Added to NRS by 1977, 879; A 1979, 157; 1989, 1239; 1995, 1151, 2533, 2726; 1997, 662, 826; 2001, 805; 2003, 1350; 2005, 594)
NRS 202.254 Private person authorized to obtain background check on person who wishes to obtain firearm from him; fee.
1. A private person who wishes to transfer a firearm to another person may, before he transfers the firearm, request that the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History perform a background check on the person who wishes to acquire the firearm.
2. The person who requests the information pursuant to subsection 1 shall provide the Central Repository with identifying information about the person who wishes to acquire the firearm.
3. Upon receiving a request from a private person pursuant to subsection 1 and the identifying information required pursuant to subsection 2, the Central Repository shall within 5 business days after receiving the request:
(a) Perform a background check on the person who wishes to acquire the firearm; and
(b) Notify the person who requests the information whether the information available to the Central Repository indicates that the receipt of a firearm by the person who wishes to acquire the firearm would violate a state or federal law.
4. If the person who requests the information does not receive notification from the Central Repository regarding his request within 5 business days after making the request, he may presume that the receipt of a firearm by the person who wishes to acquire the firearm would not violate a state or federal law.
5. The Central Repository may charge a reasonable fee for performing a background check and notifying a person of the results of the background check pursuant to this section.
6. The failure of a person to request the Central Repository to perform a background check pursuant to this section before transferring a firearm to another person does not give rise to any civil cause of action.
(Added to NRS by 1997, 825)
NRS 202.255 Setting spring gun or other deadly weapon: Unlawful and permitted uses; penalties.
1. A person who sets a so-called trap, spring pistol, rifle, or other deadly weapon shall be punished:
(a) If no injury results therefrom to any human being, for a gross misdemeanor.
(b) If injuries not fatal result therefrom to any human being, for a category B felony by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years, or by a fine of not more than $5,000, or by both fine and imprisonment.
(c) If the death of a human being results therefrom:
(1) Under circumstances not rendering the act murder, for a category B felony by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 10 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than $10,000; or
(2) Otherwise, for murder which is a category A felony as provided in NRS 200.030.
2. Subsection 1 does not prevent the use of any loaded spring gun, set gun or other device for the destruction of gophers, moles, coyotes or other burrowing rodents or predatory animals by agents or employees of governmental agencies engaged in cooperative predatory animal and rodent control work, but:
(a) A loaded spring gun, set gun or other device must not be set within 15 miles of the boundaries of any incorporated city or unincorporated town; and
(b) Before setting any such loaded spring gun, set gun or other device on any real property permission must first be obtained from the owner, lessee or administrator thereof.
[1911 C&P § 302; RL § 6567; NCL § 10250]—(NRS A 1960, 336; 1967, 485; 1979, 1433; 1995, 1205)
NRS 202.257 Possession of firearm when under influence of alcohol, controlled substance or other intoxicating substance; administration of evidentiary test; penalty; forfeiture of firearm.
1. It is unlawful for a person who:
(a) Has a concentration of alcohol of 0.10 or more in his blood or breath; or
(b) Is under the influence of any controlled substance, or is under the combined influence of intoxicating liquor and a controlled substance, or any person who inhales, ingests, applies or otherwise uses any chemical, poison or organic solvent, or any compound or combination of any of these, to a degree which renders him incapable of safely exercising actual physical control of a firearm,
 to have in his actual physical possession any firearm. This prohibition does not apply to the actual physical possession of a firearm by a person who was within his personal residence and had the firearm in his possession solely for self-defense.
2. Any evidentiary test to determine whether a person has violated the provisions of subsection 1 must be administered in the same manner as an evidentiary test that is administered pursuant to NRS 484.383 to 484.3947, inclusive, except that submission to the evidentiary test is required of any person who is directed by a police officer to submit to the test. If a person to be tested fails to submit to a required test as directed by a police officer, the officer may direct that reasonable force be used to the extent necessary to obtain the samples of blood from the person to be tested, if the officer has reasonable cause to believe that the person to be tested was in violation of this section.
3. Any person who violates the provisions of subsection 1 is guilty of a misdemeanor.
4. A firearm is subject to forfeiture pursuant to NRS 179.1156 to 179.119, inclusive, only if, during the violation of subsection 1, the firearm is brandished, aimed or otherwise handled by the person in a manner which endangered others.
5. As used in this section, the phrase “concentration of alcohol of 0.10 or more in his blood or breath” means 0.10 gram or more of alcohol per 100 milliliters of the blood of a person or per 210 liters of his breath.
(Added to NRS by 1995, 2533; A 1999, 2470; 2003, 2565)
NRS 202.260 Unlawful possession, manufacture or disposition of explosive or incendiary device: Penalty; exceptions.
1. A person who unlawfully possesses, manufactures or disposes of any explosive or incendiary device with the intent to destroy life or property is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than $5,000.
2. This section does not prohibit a person from possessing, manufacturing or using any material, component, substance or device as required for the performance of his duties related to mining, agriculture, construction or any other valid occupational purpose, or if the person is authorized by a governmental entity which has lawful control over such matters to use those items in the performance of his duties.
3. For the purposes of this section, “dispose of” means give, give away, loan, offer, offer for sale, sell or transfer.
[1911 C&P § 306; RL § 6571; NCL § 10254]—(NRS A 1973, 552; 1979, 1434; 1995, 1205; 2001, 805)
NRS 202.261 Possession of component of explosive or incendiary device with intent to manufacture explosive or incendiary device: Penalty; exceptions.
1. A person shall not knowingly possess any component of an explosive or incendiary device with the intent to manufacture an explosive or incendiary device.
2. A person who violates subsection 1 is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than $5,000.
3. This section does not prohibit a person from possessing, manufacturing or using any material, component, substance or device as required for the performance of his duties related to mining, agriculture, construction or any other valid occupational purpose, or if the person is authorized by a governmental entity which has lawful control over such matters to use those items in the performance of his duties.
(Added to NRS by 2001, 804)
NRS 202.262 Possession of explosive or incendiary device in or near certain public or private areas: Penalty; exceptions.
1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, a person shall not possess any explosive or incendiary device or any explosive or incendiary material, substance or component that may be readily converted to an explosive or incendiary device:
(a) In or upon any public street or highway in this state;
(b) In or near any private habitation, public place or any place open to the public; or
(c) In, on or near any public conveyance.
2. A person who violates subsection 1 is guilty of a category D felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
3. This section does not prohibit a person from possessing any material, component, substance or device:
(a) As required for the performance of his duties related to mining, agriculture, construction or any other valid occupational purpose, or if the person is authorized by a governmental entity which has lawful control over such matters to use those items in the performance of his duties;
(b) In an amount which, if detonated or otherwise exploded, would not ordinarily cause substantial bodily harm to another person or substantial harm to the property of another; or
(c) As part of a model rocket or engine for a model rocket that is designed, sold and used for the purpose of propelling a model rocket.
(Added to NRS by 2001, 804)
NRS 202.263 Unlawful manufacture, possession, sale, advertisement or transportation of hoax bomb: Penalty; exceptions.
1. A person shall not manufacture, purchase, possess, sell, advertise for sale or transport a hoax bomb if the person knows or should know that the hoax bomb is to be used to make a reasonable person believe that the hoax bomb is an explosive or incendiary device.
2. A person who violates subsection 1 is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
3. This section does not prohibit:
(a) The purchase, possession, sale, advertising for sale, transportation or use of a military artifact, if the military artifact is harmless or inert, unless the military artifact is used to make a reasonable person believe that the military artifact is an explosive or incendiary device.
(b) The authorized manufacture, purchase, possession, sale, transportation or use of any material, substance or device by a member of the Armed Forces of the United States, a fire department or a law enforcement agency if the person is acting lawfully while in the line of duty.
(c) The manufacture, purchase, possession, sale, transportation or use of any material, substance or device that is permitted by a specific statute.
4. As used in this section, “hoax bomb” means:
(a) An inoperative facsimile or imitation of an explosive or incendiary device; or
(b) A device or object that appears to be or to contain an explosive or incendiary device.
(Added to NRS by 1991, 816; A 2001, 805)
NRS 202.265 Possession of dangerous weapon on property or in vehicle of school or child care facility; penalty; exceptions.
1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person shall not carry or possess while on the property of the Nevada System of Higher Education, a private or public school or child care facility, or while in a vehicle of a private or public school or child care facility:
(a) An explosive or incendiary device;
(b) A dirk, dagger or switchblade knife;
(c) A nunchaku or trefoil;
(d) A blackjack or billy club or metal knuckles;
(e) A pistol, revolver or other firearm; or
(f) Any device used to mark any part of a person with paint or any other substance.
2. Any person who violates subsection 1 is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
3. This section does not prohibit the possession of a weapon listed in subsection 1 on the property of:
(a) A private or public school or child care facility by a:
(1) Peace officer;
(2) School security guard; or
(3) Person having written permission from the president of a branch or facility of the Nevada System of Higher Education or the principal of the school or the person designated by a child care facility to give permission to carry or possess the weapon.
(b) A child care facility which is located at or in the home of a natural person by the person who owns or operates the facility so long as the person resides in the home and the person complies with any laws governing the possession of such a weapon.
4. The provisions of this section apply to a child care facility located at or in the home of a natural person only during the normal hours of business of the facility.
5. For the purposes of this section:
(a) “Child care facility” means any child care facility that is licensed pursuant to chapter 432A of NRS or licensed by a city or county.
(b) “Firearm” includes any device from which a metallic projectile, including any ball bearing or pellet, may be expelled by means of spring, gas, air or other force.
(c) “Nunchaku” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 202.350.
(d) “Switchblade knife” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 202.350.
(e) “Trefoil” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 202.350.
(f) “Vehicle” has the meaning ascribed to “school bus” in NRS 484.148.
(Added to NRS by 1989, 656; A 1993, 364; 1995, 1151; 2001, 806; 2007, 1913)
NRS 202.270 Destruction of building by explosives; penalty; punishment of conspirators.
1. A person who destroys, or attempts to destroy, with dynamite, nitroglycerine, gunpowder or other high explosive, any dwelling house or other building, knowing or having reason to believe that a human being is therein at the time, is guilty of a category A felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison:
(a) For life without the possibility of parole;
(b) For life with the possibility of parole, with eligibility for parole beginning when a minimum of 10 years has been served; or
(c) For a definite term of 25 years, with eligibility for parole beginning when a minimum of 10 years has been served,
 in the discretion of the jury, or of the court upon a plea of guilty or guilty but mentally ill.
2. A person who conspires with others to commit the offense described in subsection 1 shall be punished in the same manner.
[1911 C&P § 307; RL § 6572; NCL § 10255] + [1911 C&P § 308; RL § 6573; NCL § 10256]—(NRS A 1961, 45; 1973, 1805; 1995, 1206, 2467; 1997, 642; 2003, 1482; 2007, 1440)
NRS 202.273 Unlawful manufacture or sale of certain metal-penetrating bullets: Exceptions; penalty.
1. Except as provided in subsection 2, it is unlawful to manufacture or sell any metal-penetrating bullet capable of being fired from a handgun.
2. A person may manufacture and sell metal-penetrating bullets pursuant to an agreement with a law enforcement agency for the sale of such bullets to that agency.
3. A person who violates the provisions of this section is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
4. As used in this section, “metal-penetrating bullet” means a bullet whose core:
(a) Reduces the normal expansion of the bullet upon impact; and
(b) Is at least as hard as the maximum hardness attainable using solid red metal alloys,
 and which can be used in a handgun. The term does not include any bullet with a copper or brass jacket and a core of lead or a lead alloy, or a bullet made of lead or lead alloys.
(Added to NRS by 1983, 800)
NRS 202.275 Possession, manufacture or disposition of short-barreled rifle or short-barreled shotgun: Penalty; exceptions.
1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, a person who knowingly or willfully possesses, manufactures or disposes of any short-barreled rifle or short-barreled shotgun is guilty of a category D felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
2. For purposes of this section:
(a) “Short-barreled rifle” means:
(1) A rifle having one or more barrels less than 16 inches in length; or
(2) Any weapon made from a rifle, whether by alteration, modification or other means, with an overall length of less than 26 inches.
(b) “Short-barreled shotgun” means:
(1) A shotgun having one or more barrels less than 18 inches in length; or
(2) Any weapon made from a shotgun, whether by alteration, modification or other means, with an overall length of less than 26 inches.
3. This section does not prohibit:
(a) The possession or use of any short-barreled rifle or short-barreled shotgun by any peace officer when authorized to do so in the performance of official duties;
(b) The possession of any short-barreled rifle or short-barreled shotgun by a person who is licensed as a firearms importer, manufacturer, collector or dealer by the United States Department of the Treasury, or by a person to whom such a rifle or shotgun is registered with the United States Department of the Treasury; or
(c) The possession of any short-barreled rifle or short-barreled shotgun that has been determined to be a collector’s item pursuant to 26 U.S.C. Chapter 53 or a curio or relic pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Chapter 44.
(Added to NRS by 1977, 879; A 1979, 1434; 1991, 1136; 1995, 1206; 2005, 64)
NRS 202.277 Changing, altering, removing or obliterating serial number of firearm prohibited; possession of firearm with serial number changed, altered, removed or obliterated prohibited; penalties.
1. A person shall not intentionally change, alter, remove or obliterate the serial number upon any firearm. Any person who violates the provisions of this subsection is guilty of a category C felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
2. A person shall not knowingly possess a firearm on which the serial number has been intentionally changed, altered, removed or obliterated. Any person who violates the provisions of this subsection is guilty of a category D felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
(Added to NRS by 1977, 880; A 2003, 1350)
NRS 202.280 Discharging firearm in or upon public streets or in places of public resort; throwing deadly missiles; duties of civil, military and peace officers; penalties.
1. Unless a greater penalty is provided in NRS 202.287, a person, whether under the influence of liquor, a controlled substance or otherwise, who maliciously, wantonly or negligently discharges or causes to be discharged any pistol, gun or any other kind of firearm, in or upon any public street or thoroughfare, or in any theater, hall, store, hotel, saloon or any other place of public resort, or throws any deadly missile in a public place or in any place where any person might be endangered thereby, although no injury results, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
2. All civil, military and peace officers shall be vigilant in carrying the provisions of subsection 1 into full force and effect. Any peace officer who neglects his duty in the arrest of any such offender is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
[1911 C&P § 304; RL § 6569; NCL § 10252] + [1911 C&P § 305; RL § 6570; NCL § 10253]—(NRS A 1967, 485; 1989, 1240)
NRS 202.285 Discharging firearm at or into structure, vehicle, aircraft or watercraft; penalties.
1. A person who willfully and maliciously discharges a firearm at or into any house, room, apartment, tenement, shop, warehouse, store, mill, barn, stable, outhouse or other building, tent, vessel, aircraft, vehicle, vehicle trailer, semitrailer or house trailer, railroad locomotive, car or tender:
(a) If it has been abandoned, is guilty of a misdemeanor unless a greater penalty is provided in NRS 202.287.
(b) If it is occupied, is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years, or by a fine of not more than $5,000, or by both fine and imprisonment.
2. Whenever a firearm is so discharged at or into any vessel, aircraft, vehicle, vehicle trailer, semitrailer or house trailer, railroad locomotive, car or tender, in motion or at rest, and it cannot with reasonable certainty be ascertained in what county the crime was committed, the offender may be arrested and tried in any county through which the vessel, aircraft, vehicle, vehicle trailer, semitrailer or house trailer, locomotive or railroad car may have run on the trip during which the firearm was discharged at or into it.
(Added to NRS by 1979, 157; A 1989, 1240; 1995, 1206)
NRS 202.287 Discharging firearm within or from structure or vehicle; penalties.
1. A person who is in, on or under a structure or vehicle and who maliciously or wantonly discharges or maliciously or wantonly causes to be discharged a firearm within or from the structure or vehicle:
(a) If the structure or vehicle is not within an area designated by city or county ordinance as a populated area for the purpose of prohibiting the discharge of weapons, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
(b) If the structure or vehicle is within an area designated by city or county ordinance as a populated area for the purpose of prohibiting the discharge of weapons, is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of not more than 15 years, or by a fine of not more than $5,000, or by both fine and imprisonment.
2. If a firearm is discharged within or out of any vehicle that is in motion or at rest and it cannot with reasonable certainty be ascertained in what county the crime was committed, the offender may be arrested and tried in any county through which the vehicle may have run on the trip during which the firearm was discharged.
3. The provisions of this section do not apply to:
(a) A person who lawfully shoots at a game mammal or game bird pursuant to subsection 2 of NRS 503.010.
(b) A peace officer while engaged in the performance of his official duties.
(c) A person who discharges a firearm in a lawful manner and in the course of a lawful business, event or activity.
4. As used in this section:
(a) “Structure” means any temporary or permanent structure, including, but not limited to, any tent, house, room, apartment, tenement, shop, warehouse, store, mill, barn, stable, outhouse or other building.
(b) “Vehicle” means any motor vehicle or trailer designed for use with a motor vehicle, whether or not it is self-propelled, operated on rails or propelled by electric power obtained from overhead wires.
(Added to NRS by 1989, 1239; A 1993, 2774; 1995, 1152, 1207, 2403, 2409; 2003, 987)
NRS 202.290 Aiming firearm at human being; discharging weapon where person might be endangered; penalty. Unless a greater penalty is provided in NRS 202.287, a person who willfully:
1. Aims any gun, pistol, revolver or other firearm, whether loaded or not, at or toward any human being; or
2. Discharges any firearm, air gun or other weapon, or throws any deadly missile in a public place or in any place where any person might be endangered thereby, although an injury does not result,
 is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
[1911 C&P § 344; RL § 6609; NCL § 10292]—(NRS A 1989, 820, 1240, 1243)
NRS 202.300 Use or possession of firearm by child under age of 18 years; unlawful to aid or permit child to commit violation; penalties; child 14 years of age or older authorized to possess firearm under certain circumstances.
1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a child under the age of 18 years shall not handle or have in his possession or under his control, except while accompanied by or under the immediate charge of his parent or guardian or an adult person authorized by his parent or guardian to have control or custody of the child, any firearm of any kind for hunting or target practice or for other purposes. A child who violates this subsection commits a delinquent act and the court may order the detention of the child in the same manner as if the child had committed an act that would have been a felony if committed by an adult.
2. A person who aids or knowingly permits a child to violate subsection 1:
(a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), for the first offense, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
(b) For a first offense, if the person knows or has reason to know that there is a substantial risk that the child will use the firearm to commit a violent act, is guilty of a category C felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
(c) For a second or any subsequent offense, is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than $5,000.
3. A person does not aid or knowingly permit a child to violate subsection 1 if:
(a) The firearm was stored in a securely locked container or at a location which a reasonable person would have believed to be secure;
(b) The child obtained the firearm as a result of an unlawful entry by any person in or upon the premises where the firearm was stored;
(c) The injury or death resulted from an accident which was incident to target shooting, sport shooting or hunting; or
(d) The child gained possession of the firearm from a member of the military or a law enforcement officer, while the member or officer was performing his official duties.
4. The provisions of subsection 1 do not apply to a child who is a member of the Armed Forces of the United States.
5. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 8, a child who is 14 years of age or older, who has in his possession a valid license to hunt, may handle or have in his possession or under his control, without being accompanied by his parent or guardian or an adult person authorized by his parent or guardian to have control or custody of him:
(a) A rifle or shotgun that is not a fully automatic firearm, if the child is not otherwise prohibited by law from possessing the rifle or shotgun and the child has the permission of his parent or guardian to handle or have in his possession or under his control the rifle or shotgun; or
(b) A firearm capable of being concealed upon the person, if the child has the written permission of his parent or guardian to handle or have in his possession or under his control such a firearm and the child is not otherwise prohibited by law from possessing such a firearm,
 and the child is traveling to the area in which he will be hunting or returning from that area and the firearm is not loaded, or the child is hunting pursuant to that license.
6. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 8, a child who is 14 years of age or older may handle or have in his possession or under his control a rifle or shotgun that is not a fully automatic firearm if the child is not otherwise prohibited by law from possessing the rifle or shotgun, without being accompanied by his parent or guardian or an adult person authorized by his parent or guardian to have control or custody of him, if the child has the permission of his parent or guardian to handle or have in his possession or under his control the rifle or shotgun and the child is:
(a) Attending a course of instruction in the responsibilities of hunters or a course of instruction in the safe use of firearms;
(b) Practicing the use of a firearm at an established firing range or at any other area where the discharge of a firearm is permitted;
(c) Participating in a lawfully organized competition or performance involving the use of a firearm;
(d) Within an area in which the discharge of firearms has not been prohibited by local ordinance or regulation and he is engaging in a lawful hunting activity in accordance with chapter 502 of NRS for which a license is not required;
(e) Traveling to or from any activity described in paragraph (a), (b), (c) or (d), and the firearm is not loaded;
(f) On real property that is under the control of an adult, and the child has the permission of that adult to possess the firearm on the real property; or
(g) At his residence.
7. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 8, a child who is 14 years of age or older may handle or have in his possession or under his control, for the purpose of engaging in any of the activities listed in paragraphs (a) to (g), inclusive, of subsection 6, a firearm capable of being concealed upon the person, without being accompanied by his parent or guardian or an adult person authorized by his parent or guardian to have control or custody of him, if the child:
(a) Has the written permission of his parent or guardian to handle or have in his possession or under his control such a firearm for the purpose of engaging in such an activity; and
(b) Is not otherwise prohibited by law from possessing such a firearm.
8. A child shall not handle or have in his possession or under his control a loaded firearm if he is:
(a) An occupant of a motor vehicle;
(b) Within any residence, including his residence, or any building other than a facility licensed for target practice, unless possession of the firearm is necessary for the immediate defense of the child or another person; or
(c) Within an area designated by a county or municipal ordinance as a populated area for the purpose of prohibiting the discharge of weapons, unless he is within a facility licensed for target practice.
9. For the purposes of this section, a firearm is loaded if:
(a) There is a cartridge in the chamber of the firearm;
(b) There is a cartridge in the cylinder of the firearm, if the firearm is a revolver; or
(c) There is a cartridge in the magazine and the magazine is in the firearm or there is a cartridge in the chamber, if the firearm is a semiautomatic firearm.
[1911 C&P § 345; RL § 6610; NCL § 10293]—(NRS A 1963, 3; 1991, 1154; 1995, 1152; 1997, 516, 1181)

_________________
John Hansen
Black Wolf Defense

Affordable Firearms training!
623-694-0377
AZ CCW classes are $40
Defensive Handgun Class is $65
http://www.blackwolfccw.com
www.azccwclasses.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nevada General Firearms Laws. Part 2
New postPosted: 30 Apr 2009, 18:20 
Offline
AZS is my home
AZS is my home
User avatar

Joined: 03 Dec 2005, 18:58
Posts: 10924
Location: West Valley, Arizona
NRS 202.310 Sale of firearms to minors; penalty. Any person in this state who sells or barters to a child who is under the age of 18 years, with reckless disregard of whether the child is under the age of 18 years, or with knowledge or reason to know that the child is under the age of 18 years, a pistol, revolver or a firearm capable of being concealed upon the person is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than $5,000.
[1:164:1955]—(NRS A 1995, 1154; 1997, 519, 1183)
NRS 202.320 Drawing deadly weapon in threatening manner.
1. Unless a greater penalty is provided in NRS 202.287, a person having, carrying or procuring from another person any dirk, dirk-knife, sword, sword cane, pistol, gun or other deadly weapon, who, in the presence of two or more persons, draws or exhibits any of such deadly weapons in a rude, angry or threatening manner not in necessary self-defense, or who in any manner unlawfully uses that weapon in any fight or quarrel, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
2. A sheriff, deputy sheriff, marshal, constable or other peace officer shall not be held to answer, under the provisions of subsection 1, for drawing or exhibiting any of the weapons mentioned therein while in the lawful discharge of his duties.
[1911 C&P § 174; RL § 6439; NCL § 10121]—(NRS A 1967, 486; 1989, 1240)
NRS 202.340 Confiscation and disposition of dangerous weapons by law enforcement agencies.
1. Except as otherwise provided for firearms forfeitable pursuant to NRS 453.301, when any instrument or weapon described in NRS 202.350 is taken from the possession of any person charged with the commission of any public offense or crime or any child charged with committing a delinquent act, the instrument or weapon must be surrendered to:
(a) The head of the police force or department of an incorporated city if the possession thereof was detected by any member of the police force of the city; or
(b) The chief administrator of a state law enforcement agency, for disposal pursuant to NRS 333.220, if the possession thereof was detected by any member of the agency.
 In all other cases, the instrument or weapon must be surrendered to the sheriff of the county or the sheriff of the metropolitan police department for the county in which the instrument or weapon was taken.
2. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 5, the governing body of the county or city or the metropolitan police committee on fiscal affairs shall at least once a year order the local law enforcement officer to whom any instrument or weapon is surrendered pursuant to subsection 1 to:
(a) Retain the confiscated instrument or weapon for use by the law enforcement agency headed by the officer;
(b) Sell the confiscated instrument or weapon to another law enforcement agency;
(c) Destroy or direct the destruction of the confiscated instrument or weapon if it is not otherwise required to be destroyed pursuant to subsection 5;
(d) Trade the confiscated instrument or weapon to a properly licensed retailer or wholesaler in exchange for equipment necessary for the performance of the agency’s duties; or
(e) Donate the confiscated instrument or weapon to a museum, the Nevada National Guard or, if appropriate, to another person for use which furthers a charitable or public interest.
3. All proceeds of a sale ordered pursuant to subsection 2 by:
(a) The governing body of a county or city must be deposited with the county treasurer or the city treasurer and the county treasurer or the city treasurer shall credit the proceeds to the general fund of the county or city.
(b) A metropolitan police committee on fiscal affairs must be deposited in a fund which was created pursuant to NRS 280.220.
4. Any officer receiving an order pursuant to subsection 2 shall comply with the order as soon as practicable.
5. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 6, the officer to whom a confiscated instrument or weapon is surrendered pursuant to subsection 1 shall:
(a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (c), destroy or direct to be destroyed any instrument or weapon which is determined to be dangerous to the safety of the public.
(b) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (c), return any instrument or weapon, which has not been destroyed pursuant to paragraph (a):
(1) Upon demand, to the person from whom the instrument or weapon was confiscated if the person is acquitted of the public offense or crime of which he was charged; or
(2) To the legal owner of the instrument or weapon if the Attorney General or the district attorney determines that the instrument or weapon was unlawfully acquired from the legal owner. If retention of the instrument or weapon is ordered or directed pursuant to paragraph (c), except as otherwise provided in paragraph (a), the instrument or weapon must be returned to the legal owner as soon as practicable after the order or direction is rescinded.
(c) Retain the confiscated instrument or weapon held by him pursuant to an order of a judge of a court of record or by direction of the Attorney General or district attorney that the retention is necessary for purposes of evidence, until the order or direction is rescinded.
(d) Return any instrument or weapon which was stolen to its rightful owner, unless the return is otherwise prohibited by law.
6. Before any disposition pursuant to subsection 5, the officer who is in possession of the confiscated instrument or weapon shall submit a full description of the instrument or weapon to a laboratory which provides forensic services in this State. The director of the laboratory shall determine whether the instrument or weapon:
(a) Must be sent to the laboratory for examination as part of a criminal investigation; or
(b) Is a necessary addition to a referential collection maintained by the laboratory for purposes relating to law enforcement.
[1:93:1913; 1919 RL p. 2710; NCL § 2300] + [2:93:1913; A 1953, 546]—(NRS A 1959, 547; 1967, 1719; 1989, 12, 143, 144; 1995, 304, 1154, 1161)
NRS 202.350 Manufacture, importation, possession or use of dangerous weapon or silencer; carrying concealed weapon without permit; penalties; issuance of permit to carry concealed weapon; exceptions.
1. Except as otherwise provided in this section and NRS 202.355 and 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive, a person within this State shall not:
(a) Manufacture or cause to be manufactured, or import into the State, or keep, offer or expose for sale, or give, lend or possess any knife which is made an integral part of a belt buckle or any instrument or weapon of the kind commonly known as a switchblade knife, blackjack, slungshot, billy, sand-club, sandbag or metal knuckles;
(b) Manufacture or cause to be manufactured, or import into the State, or keep, offer or expose for sale, or give, lend, possess or use a machine gun or a silencer, unless authorized by federal law;
(c) With the intent to inflict harm upon the person of another, possess or use a nunchaku or trefoil; or
(d) Carry concealed upon his person any:
(1) Explosive substance, other than ammunition or any components thereof;
(2) Dirk, dagger or machete;
(3) Pistol, revolver or other firearm, or other dangerous or deadly weapon; or
(4) Knife which is made an integral part of a belt buckle.
2. Except as otherwise provided in NRS 202.275 and 212.185, a person who violates any of the provisions of:
(a) Paragraph (a) or (c) or subparagraph (2) or (4) of paragraph (d) of subsection 1 is guilty:
(1) For the first offense, of a gross misdemeanor.
(2) For any subsequent offense, of a category D felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
(b) Paragraph (b) or subparagraph (1) or (3) of paragraph (d) of subsection 1 is guilty of a category C felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
3. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, the sheriff of any county may, upon written application by a resident of that county showing the reason or the purpose for which a concealed weapon is to be carried, issue a permit authorizing the applicant to carry in this State the concealed weapon described in the permit. The sheriff shall not issue a permit to a person to carry a switchblade knife. This subsection does not authorize the sheriff to issue a permit to a person to carry a pistol, revolver or other firearm.
4. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 5, this section does not apply to:
(a) Sheriffs, constables, marshals, peace officers, correctional officers employed by the Department of Corrections, special police officers, police officers of this State, whether active or honorably retired, or other appointed officers.
(b) Any person summoned by any peace officer to assist in making arrests or preserving the peace while the person so summoned is actually engaged in assisting such an officer.
(c) Any full-time paid peace officer of an agency of the United States or another state or political subdivision thereof when carrying out official duties in the State of Nevada.
(d) Members of the Armed Forces of the United States when on duty.
5. The exemptions provided in subsection 4 do not include a former peace officer who is retired for disability unless his former employer has approved his fitness to carry a concealed weapon.
6. The provisions of paragraph (b) of subsection 1 do not apply to any person who is licensed, authorized or permitted to possess or use a machine gun or silencer pursuant to federal law. The burden of establishing federal licensure, authorization or permission is upon the person possessing the license, authorization or permission.
7. This section shall not be construed to prohibit a qualified law enforcement officer or a qualified retired law enforcement officer from carrying a concealed weapon in this State if he is authorized to do so pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 926B or 926C.
8. As used in this section:
(a) “Concealed weapon” means a weapon described in this section that is carried upon a person in such a manner as not to be discernible by ordinary observation.
(b) “Honorably retired” means retired in Nevada after completion of 10 years of creditable service as a member of the Public Employees’ Retirement System. A former peace officer is not “honorably retired” if he was discharged for cause or resigned before the final disposition of allegations of serious misconduct.
(c) “Machine gun” means any weapon which shoots, is designed to shoot or can be readily restored to shoot more than one shot, without manual reloading, by a single function of the trigger.
(d) “Nunchaku” means an instrument consisting of two or more sticks, clubs, bars or rods connected by a rope, cord, wire or chain used as a weapon in forms of Oriental combat.
(e) “Qualified law enforcement officer” has the meaning ascribed to it in 18 U.S.C. § 926B(c).
(f) “Qualified retired law enforcement officer” has the meaning ascribed to it in 18 U.S.C. § 926C(c).
(g) “Silencer” means any device for silencing, muffling or diminishing the report of a firearm, including any combination of parts, designed or redesigned, and intended for use in assembling or fabricating a silencer or muffler, and any part intended only for use in such assembly or fabrication.
(h) “Switchblade knife” means a spring-blade knife, snap-blade knife or any other knife having the appearance of a pocketknife, any blade of which is 2 or more inches long and which can be released automatically by a flick of a button, pressure on the handle or other mechanical device, or is released by any type of mechanism. The term does not include a knife which has a blade that is held in place by a spring if the blade does not have any type of automatic release.
(i) “Trefoil” means an instrument consisting of a metal plate having three or more radiating points with sharp edges, designed in the shape of a star, cross or other geometric figure and used as a weapon for throwing.
[1:47:1925; NCL § 2302] + [3:47:1925; NCL § 2304]—(NRS A 1959, 548; 1963, 90; 1967, 486; 1973, 190, 900; 1977, 269, 880; 1979, 1435; 1985, 452, 593, 792; 1989, 653; 1995, 1207, 2726; 1997, 826, 1601; 1999, 421, 1208; 2001, 575; 2003, 1351; 2005, 594)
NRS 202.355 Manufacture or sale of switchblade knives: Application for permit; eligibility; public hearing; restrictions.
1. Upon written application, the sheriff of any county may issue a permit authorizing a person whose place of business is located in that county to manufacture or to keep, offer or expose for sale switchblade knives if the person demonstrates good cause for such authorization.
2. Before issuing a permit, the sheriff shall request the board of county commissioners to hold a public hearing concerning the issuance of the permit.
3. If the sheriff issues a permit which authorizes a person to sell switchblade knives, the permit must provide that switchblade knives may be sold only to:
(a) A person in another state, territory or country;
(b) A person who is authorized by law to possess a switchblade knife in this state, including, without limitation, any sheriff, constable, marshal, peace officer and member of the Armed Forces of the United States when on duty; and
(c) A distributor who has been issued a permit pursuant to this section.
(Added to NRS by 2003, 1350)
NRS 202.357 Electronic stun device: Use prohibited except for self-defense; possession by certain persons prohibited; sale, gift or other provision to certain persons prohibited; penalties.
1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person shall not use an electronic stun device on another person for any purpose other than self-defense.
2. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person shall not have in his possession or under his custody or control any electronic stun device if he:
(a) Has been convicted of a felony in this State or any other state, or in any political subdivision thereof, or of a felony in violation of the laws of the United States of America, unless he has received a pardon and the pardon does not restrict his right to bear arms;
(b) Is a fugitive from justice;
(c) Has been adjudicated as mentally ill or has been committed to any mental health facility; or
(d) Is illegally or unlawfully in the United States.
3. A child under 18 years of age shall not have in his possession or under his custody or control any electronic stun device.
4. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person within this State shall not sell, give or otherwise provide an electronic stun device to another person if he has actual knowledge that the other person:
(a) Is a child under 18 years of age;
(b) Has been convicted of a felony in this State or any other state, or in any political subdivision thereof, or of a felony in violation of the laws of the United States of America, unless he has received a pardon and the pardon does not restrict his right to bear arms;
(c) Is a fugitive from justice;
(d) Has been adjudicated as mentally ill or has been committed to any mental health facility; or
(e) Is illegally or unlawfully in the United States.
5. A person who violates the provisions of:
(a) Subsection 1 or paragraph (a) or (b) of subsection 2 is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than $5,000.
(b) Paragraph (c) or (d) of subsection 2 is guilty of a category D felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
6. A child who violates subsection 3 commits a delinquent act and the court may order the detention of the child in the same manner as if the child had committed an act that would have been a felony if committed by an adult.
7. A person who violates the provisions of subsection 4 is guilty of a category D felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
8. The provisions of subsections 1, 2 and 4 do not apply to a peace officer who possesses or uses or sells, gives or otherwise provides to another person an electronic stun device within the scope of his duties.
9. As used in this section, “electronic stun device” means a device that:
(a) Emits an electrical charge or current that is transmitted by projectile, physical contact or other means; and
(b) Is designed to disable a person or animal temporarily or permanently.
(Added to NRS by 2005, 266)
NRS 202.360 Ownership or possession of firearm by certain persons prohibited; penalties.
1. A person shall not own or have in his possession or under his custody or control any firearm if he:
(a) Has been convicted of a felony in this or any other state, or in any political subdivision thereof, or of a felony in violation of the laws of the United States of America, unless he has received a pardon and the pardon does not restrict his right to bear arms;
(b) Is a fugitive from justice; or
(c) Is an unlawful user of, or addicted to, any controlled substance.
 A person who violates the provisions of this subsection is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than $5,000.
2. A person shall not own or have in his possession or under his custody or control any firearm if he:
(a) Has been adjudicated as mentally ill or has been committed to any mental health facility; or
(b) Is illegally or unlawfully in the United States.
 A person who violates the provisions of this subsection is guilty of a category D felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
3. As used in this section:
(a) “Controlled substance” has the meaning ascribed to it in 21 U.S.C. § 802(6).
(b) “Firearm” includes any firearm that is loaded or unloaded and operable or inoperable.
[2:47:1925; A 1955, 185] + [3:47:1925; NCL § 2304]—(NRS A 1959, 548; 1967, 487; 1979, 1435; 1983, 926; 1985, 453, 594; 1991, 72; 1995, 1208; 1997, 828; 2003, 1352)
NRS 202.362 Sale or disposal of firearm or ammunition to certain persons prohibited; penalty; exceptions.
1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, a person within this State shall not sell or otherwise dispose of any firearm or ammunition to another person if he has actual knowledge that the other person:
(a) Is under indictment for, or has been convicted of, a felony in this or any other state, or in any political subdivision thereof, or of a felony in violation of the laws of the United States of America, unless he has received a pardon and the pardon does not restrict his right to bear arms;
(b) Is a fugitive from justice;
(c) Has been adjudicated as mentally ill or has been committed to any mental health facility; or
(d) Is illegally or unlawfully in the United States.
2. A person who violates the provisions of subsection 1 is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 10 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than $10,000.
3. This section does not apply to a person who sells or disposes of any firearm or ammunition to:
(a) A licensed importer, licensed manufacturer, licensed dealer or licensed collector who, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 925(b), is not precluded from dealing in firearms or ammunition; or
(b) A person who has been granted relief from the disabilities imposed by federal laws pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 925(c).
(Added to NRS by 2003, 1349)
Concealed Firearms
NRS 202.3653 Definitions. As used in NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive, unless the context otherwise requires:
1. “Concealed firearm” means a loaded or unloaded pistol, revolver or other firearm which is carried upon a person in such a manner as not to be discernible by ordinary observation.
2. “Department” means the Department of Public Safety.
3. “Permit” means a permit to carry a concealed firearm issued pursuant to the provisions of NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive.
4. “Revolver” means a firearm that has a revolving cylinder with several chambers, which, by pulling the trigger or setting the hammer, are aligned with the barrel, placing the bullet in a position to be fired. The term includes, without limitation, a single or double derringer.
5. “Semiautomatic firearm” means a firearm which:
(a) Uses the energy of the explosive in a fixed cartridge to extract a fixed cartridge and chamber a fresh cartridge with each single pull of the trigger; and
(b) Requires the release of the trigger and another pull of the trigger for each successive shot.
(Added to NRS by 1995, 2721; A 1997, 1175; 1999, 850; 2001, 2579; 2005, 596; 2007, 3151)
NRS 202.3657 Application for permit; eligibility; denial or revocation of permit.
1. Any person who is a resident of this State may apply to the sheriff of the county in which he resides for a permit on a form prescribed by regulation of the Department. Any person who is not a resident of this State may apply to the sheriff of any county in this State for a permit on a form prescribed by regulation of the Department. Application forms for permits must be furnished by the sheriff of each county upon request.
2. Except as otherwise provided in this section, the sheriff shall issue a permit for revolvers, one or more specific semiautomatic firearms, or for revolvers and one or more specific semiautomatic firearms, as applicable, to any person who is qualified to possess the firearm or firearms to which the application pertains under state and federal law, who submits an application in accordance with the provisions of this section and who:
(a) Is 21 years of age or older;
(b) Is not prohibited from possessing a firearm pursuant to NRS 202.360; and
(c) Demonstrates competence with revolvers, each specific semiautomatic firearm to which the application pertains, or revolvers and each such semiautomatic firearm, as applicable, by presenting a certificate or other documentation to the sheriff which shows that he:
(1) Successfully completed a course in firearm safety approved by a sheriff in this State; or
(2) Successfully completed a course in firearm safety offered by a federal, state or local law enforcement agency, community college, university or national organization that certifies instructors in firearm safety.
 Such a course must include instruction in the use of revolvers, each semiautomatic firearm to which the application pertains, or revolvers and each such semiautomatic firearm and in the laws of this State relating to the use of a firearm. A sheriff may not approve a course in firearm safety pursuant to subparagraph (1) unless he determines that the course meets any standards that are established by the Nevada Sheriffs’ and Chiefs’ Association or, if the Nevada Sheriffs’ and Chiefs’ Association ceases to exist, its legal successor.
3. The sheriff shall deny an application or revoke a permit if he determines that the applicant or permittee:
(a) Has an outstanding warrant for his arrest.
(b) Has been judicially declared incompetent or insane.
(c) Has been voluntarily or involuntarily admitted to a mental health facility during the immediately preceding 5 years.
(d) Has habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired. For the purposes of this paragraph, it is presumed that a person has so used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance if, during the immediately preceding 5 years, he has been:
(1) Convicted of violating the provisions of NRS 484.379; or
(2) Committed for treatment pursuant to NRS 458.290 to 458.350, inclusive.
(e) Has been convicted of a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence punishable as a misdemeanor under the laws of this or any other state, or a territory or possession of the United States at any time during the immediately preceding 3 years.
(f) Has been convicted of a felony in this State or under the laws of any state, territory or possession of the United States.
(g) Has been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or is currently subject to a restraining order, injunction or other order for protection against domestic violence.
(h) Is currently on parole or probation from a conviction obtained in this State or in any other state or territory or possession of the United States.
(i) Has, within the immediately preceding 5 years, been subject to any requirements imposed by a court of this State or of any other state or territory or possession of the United States, as a condition to the court’s:
(1) Withholding of the entry of judgment for his conviction of a felony; or
(2) Suspension of his sentence for the conviction of a felony.
(j) Has made a false statement on any application for a permit or for the renewal of a permit.
4. The sheriff may deny an application or revoke a permit if he receives a sworn affidavit stating articulable facts based upon personal knowledge from any natural person who is 18 years of age or older that the applicant or permittee has or may have committed an offense or engaged in any other activity specified in subsection 3 which would preclude the issuance of a permit to the applicant or require the revocation of a permit pursuant to this section.
5. If the sheriff receives notification submitted by a court or law enforcement agency of this or any other state, the United States or a territory or possession of the United States that a permittee or an applicant for a permit has been charged with a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence, the conviction for which would require the revocation of a permit or preclude the issuance of a permit to the applicant pursuant to this section, the sheriff shall suspend the person’s permit or the processing of his application until the final disposition of the charges against him. If a permittee is acquitted of the charges against him, or if the charges are dropped, the sheriff shall restore his permit without imposing a fee.
6. An application submitted pursuant to this section must be completed and signed under oath by the applicant. The applicant’s signature must be witnessed by an employee of the sheriff or notarized by a notary public. The application must include:
(a) The name, address, place and date of birth, social security number, occupation and employer of the applicant and any other names used by the applicant;
(b) A complete set of the applicant’s fingerprints taken by the sheriff or his agent;
(c) A front-view colored photograph of the applicant taken by the sheriff or his agent;
(d) If the applicant is a resident of this State, the driver’s license number or identification card number of the applicant issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles;
(e) If the applicant is not a resident of this State, the driver’s license number or identification card number of the applicant issued by another state or jurisdiction;
(f) The make, model and caliber of each semiautomatic firearm to which the application pertains, if any;
(g) Whether the application pertains to revolvers;
(h) A nonrefundable fee in the amount necessary to obtain the report required pursuant to subsection 1 of NRS 202.366; and
(i) A nonrefundable fee set by the sheriff not to exceed $60.
(Added to NRS by 1995, 2721; A 1997, 1175; 2001, 612, 618, 2579; 2003, 8, 11; 2007, 3151)
NRS 202.366 Investigation of applicant for permit; issuance or denial of permit; expiration of permit.
1. Upon receipt by a sheriff of an application for a permit, the sheriff shall conduct an investigation of the applicant to determine if he is eligible for a permit. In conducting the investigation, the sheriff shall forward a complete set of the applicant’s fingerprints to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report concerning the criminal history of the applicant. The sheriff shall issue a permit to the applicant unless he is not qualified to possess a handgun pursuant to state or federal law or is not otherwise qualified to obtain a permit pursuant to NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive, or the regulations adopted pursuant thereto.
2. To assist the sheriff in conducting his investigation, any local law enforcement agency, including the sheriff of any county, may voluntarily submit to the sheriff a report or other information concerning the criminal history of an applicant.
3. Within 120 days after a complete application for a permit is submitted, the sheriff to whom the application is submitted shall grant or deny the application. If the application is denied, the sheriff shall send the applicant written notification setting forth the reasons for the denial. If the application is granted, the sheriff shall provide the applicant with a permit containing a colored photograph of the applicant and containing such other information as may be prescribed by the Department. The permit must be in substantially the following form:

NEVADA CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT

County............................................... Permit Number.....................................
Expires................................................ Date of Birth........................................
Height................................................ Weight..................................................
Name.................................................. Address................................................
City..................................................... Zip.........................................................
Photograph
Signature...........................................
Issued by...........................................
Date of Issue.....................................
Make, model and caliber of each authorized semiautomatic firearm, if any..........
Revolvers authorized.................................................... Yes.................................... No

4. Unless suspended or revoked by the sheriff who issued the permit, a permit expires 5 years after the date on which it is issued.
(Added to NRS by 1995, 2723; A 1999, 2094; 2001, 614, 620; 2003, 13, 2846; 2007, 3153)
NRS 202.3662 Confidentiality of information about applicant for permit and permittee.
1. Except as otherwise provided in this section and NRS 202.3665 and 239.0115:
(a) An application for a permit, and all information contained within that application; and
(b) All information provided to a sheriff or obtained by a sheriff in the course of his investigation of an applicant,
 are confidential.
2. Any records regarding an applicant or permittee may be released to a law enforcement agency for the purpose of conducting an investigation or prosecution.
3. Statistical abstracts of data compiled by a sheriff regarding permits applied for or issued pursuant to NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive, including, but not limited to, the number of applications received and permits issued, may be released to any person.
(Added to NRS by 1997, 1174; A 1999, 851; 2007, 2077)
NRS 202.3663 Judicial review of denial of application for permit. If an application for a permit is denied by a sheriff, the applicant who submitted the application may seek a judicial review of the denial by filing a petition in the district court for the county in which the applicant filed his application for a permit. A judicial review conducted pursuant to this section must be limited to a determination of whether the denial was arbitrary, capricious or otherwise characterized by an abuse of discretion and must be conducted in accordance with the procedures set forth in chapter 233B of NRS for reviewing a final decision of an agency.
(Added to NRS by 1995, 2724; A 2001, 615)
NRS 202.3665 Duties of sheriff upon receiving notification that applicant or permittee has been charged with or convicted of crime involving use or threatened use of force or violence.
1. If a sheriff who is processing an application for a permit receives notification pursuant to NRS 202.3657 that the applicant has been:
(a) Charged with a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence, the sheriff shall notify any victim of the crime of the fact that the sheriff has, pursuant to NRS 202.3657:
(1) Suspended the processing of the application until the final disposition of the charges against the applicant; or
(2) Resumed the processing of the application following the dropping of charges against the applicant or the acquittal of the applicant.
(b) Convicted of a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence, the sheriff shall notify any victim of the crime of the fact that the sheriff has, pursuant to NRS 202.3657, denied the application.
2. If a sheriff who has issued a permit to a permittee receives notification pursuant to NRS 202.3657 that the permittee has been:
(a) Charged with a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence, the sheriff shall notify any victim of the crime of the fact that the sheriff has, pursuant to NRS 202.3657:
(1) Suspended the permit of the permittee until the final disposition of the charges against the permittee; or
(2) Restored the permit of the permittee following the dropping of charges against the permittee or the acquittal of the permittee.
(b) Convicted of a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence, the sheriff shall notify any victim of the crime of the fact that the sheriff has, pursuant to NRS 202.3657, revoked the permit of the permittee.
3. The sheriff shall notify a victim pursuant to subsection 1 or 2 not later than 10 days after the date on which the sheriff performs one of the actions listed in subsection 1 or 2 concerning an application or a permit.
(Added to NRS by 1999, 850)
NRS 202.3667 Permittee to carry permit and proper identification when in possession of concealed firearm; penalty.
1. Each permittee shall carry the permit, or a duplicate issued pursuant to the provisions of NRS 202.367, together with proper identification whenever the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed firearm. Both the permit and proper identification must be presented if requested by a peace officer.
2. A permittee who violates the provisions of this section is subject to a civil penalty of $25 for each violation.
(Added to NRS by 1995, 2724)
NRS 202.367 Duplicate permit; notification to sheriff of recovered permit; penalty.
1. A permittee shall notify the sheriff who issued his permit in writing within 30 days if:
(a) His permanent address changes; or
(b) His permit is lost, stolen or destroyed.
2. The sheriff shall issue a duplicate permit to a permittee if he:
(a) Submits a written statement to the sheriff, signed under oath, stating that his permit has been lost, stolen or destroyed; and
(b) Pays a nonrefundable fee of $15.
3. If any permittee subsequently finds or recovers his permit after being issued a duplicate permit pursuant to this section, he shall, within 10 days:
(a) Notify the sheriff in writing; and
(b) Return the duplicate permit to the sheriff.
4. A permittee who fails to notify a sheriff pursuant to the provisions of this section is subject to a civil penalty of $25.
(Added to NRS by 1995, 2724)
NRS 202.3673 Permittee authorized to carry concealed firearm while on premises of public building; exceptions; penalty.
1. Except as otherwise provided in subsections 2 and 3, a permittee may carry a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of any public building.
2. A permittee shall not carry a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of a public building that is located on the property of a public airport.
3. A permittee shall not carry a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of:
(a) A public building that is located on the property of a public school or a child care facility or the property of the Nevada System of Higher Education, unless the permittee has obtained written permission to carry a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of the public building pursuant to subparagraph (3) of paragraph (a) of subsection 3 of NRS 202.265.
(b) A public building that has a metal detector at each public entrance or a sign posted at each public entrance indicating that no firearms are allowed in the building, unless the permittee is not prohibited from carrying a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of the public building pursuant to subsection 4.
4. The provisions of paragraph (b) of subsection 3 do not prohibit:
(a) A permittee who is a judge from carrying a concealed firearm in the courthouse or courtroom in which he presides or from authorizing a permittee to carry a concealed firearm while in the courtroom of the judge and while traveling to and from the courtroom of the judge.
(b) A permittee who is a prosecuting attorney of an agency or political subdivision of the United States or of this State from carrying a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of a public building.
(c) A permittee who is employed in the public building from carrying a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of the public building.
(d) A permittee from carrying a concealed firearm while he is on the premises of the public building if the permittee has received written permission from the person in control of the public building to carry a concealed firearm while the permittee is on the premises of the public building.
5. A person who violates subsection 2 or 3 is guilty of a misdemeanor.
6. As used in this section:
(a) “Child care facility” has the meaning ascribed to it in paragraph (a) of subsection 5 of NRS 202.265.
(b) “Public building” means any building or office space occupied by:
(1) Any component of the Nevada System of Higher Education and used for any purpose related to the System; or
(2) The Federal Government, the State of Nevada or any county, city, school district or other political subdivision of the State of Nevada and used for any public purpose.
 If only part of the building is occupied by an entity described in this subsection, the term means only that portion of the building which is so occupied.
(Added to NRS by 1995, 2725; A 1997, 63; 1999, 2767; 2007, 1914)
NRS 202.3677 Application for renewal of permit; fees; demonstrated continued competence required.
1. If a permittee wishes to renew his permit, the permittee must complete and submit to the sheriff who issued the permit an application for renewal of the permit.
2. An application for the renewal of a permit must:
(a) Be completed and signed under oath by the applicant;
(b) Contain a statement that the applicant is eligible to receive a permit pursuant to NRS 202.3657; and
(c) Be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of $25.
 If a permittee fails to renew his permit on or before the date of expiration of his permit, the application for renewal must include an additional nonrefundable late fee of $15.
3. No permit may be renewed pursuant to this section unless the permittee has demonstrated continued competence with revolvers, with each semiautomatic firearm to which the application pertains, or with revolvers and each such semiautomatic firearm, as applicable, by successfully completing a course prescribed by the sheriff renewing the permit.
(Added to NRS by 1995, 2725; A 2007, 3154)
NRS 202.3678 Application for certification as qualified retired law enforcement officer; fee.
1. A retired law enforcement officer who is a resident of this State may apply, on a form prescribed by regulation of the Department, to the sheriff of the county in which he resides for any certification required pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 926C(d) to become a qualified retired law enforcement officer. Application forms for certification must be provided by the sheriff of each county upon request.
2. The sheriff shall provide the certification pursuant to subsection 1 to a retired law enforcement officer who submits a completed application and pays any fee required pursuant to subsection 3 if the sheriff determines that the officer meets the standards for training and qualifications.
3. The sheriff may impose a nonrefundable fee in the amount necessary to pay the expenses in providing the certification.
4. As used in this section, “qualified retired law enforcement officer” has the meaning ascribed to it in 18 U.S.C. § 926C.
(Added to NRS by 2005, 593)
NRS 202.368 Fees to be deposited with county treasurer. All fees collected pursuant to the provisions of NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive, must be deposited with the county treasurer of the county in which the fees are collected and:
1. If the county has a metropolitan police department created pursuant to chapter 280 of NRS, credited to the general fund of that metropolitan police department; or
2. If the county does not have a metropolitan police department created pursuant to chapter 280 of NRS, credited to the general fund of that county.
(Added to NRS by 1995, 2725; A 2005, 596)
NRS 202.3683 Immunity of state and local governments from civil liability. The State or any political subdivision of the State, the Department, a sheriff, law enforcement agency, firearm safety or training instructor or any other person who, in good faith and without gross negligence, acts pursuant to the provisions of NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive, is immune from civil liability for those acts. Such acts include, but are not limited to, the receipt, review or investigation of an application for a permit, the certification of a retired law enforcement officer, or the issuance, denial, suspension, revocation or renewal of a permit.
(Added to NRS by 1995, 2725; A 2005, 596)
NRS 202.3687 Temporary permits.
1. The provisions of NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive, do not prohibit a sheriff from issuing a temporary permit. A temporary permit may include, but is not limited to, provisions specifying the period for which the permit is valid.
2. Each sheriff who issues a permit pursuant to the provisions of NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive, shall provide such information concerning the permit and the person to whom it is issued to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History.
(Added to NRS by 1995, 2726; A 1999, 2095; 2007, 3154)
NRS 202.3688 Circumstances in which holder of permit issued by another state may carry concealed firearm in this State; holder of permit issued by another state subject to same restrictions and requirements as holder of permit issued in this State.
1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, a person who possesses a permit to carry a concealed firearm that was issued by a state included in the list prepared pursuant to NRS 202.3689 may carry a concealed firearm in this State in accordance with the requirements set forth in NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive.
2. A person who possesses a permit to carry a concealed firearm that was issued by a state included in the list prepared pursuant to NRS 202.3689 may not carry a concealed firearm in this State if the person:
(a) Becomes a resident of this State; and
(b) Has not been issued a permit from the sheriff of the county in which he resides within 60 days after becoming a resident of this State.
3. A person who carries a concealed firearm pursuant to this section is subject to the same legal restrictions and requirements imposed upon a person who has been issued a permit by a sheriff in this State.
(Added to NRS by 2007, 3150)
NRS 202.3689 Department to prepare list of states that meet certain requirements concerning permits; Department to provide copy of list to law enforcement agencies in this State; Department to make list available to public.
1. On or before July 1 of each year, the Department shall:
(a) Examine the requirements for the issuance of a permit to carry a concealed firearm in each state and determine whether the requirements of each state are substantially similar to or more stringent than the requirements set forth in NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive.
(b) Determine whether each state has an electronic database which identifies each individual who possesses a valid permit to carry a concealed firearm issued by that state and which a law enforcement officer in this State may access at all times through a national law enforcement telecommunications system.
(c) Prepare a list of states that meet the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b). A state must not be included in the list unless the Nevada Sheriffs’ and Chiefs’ Association agrees with the Department that the state should be included in the list.
(d) Provide a copy of the list prepared pursuant to paragraph (c) to each law enforcement agency in this State.
2. The Department shall, upon request, make the list prepared pursuant to subsection 1 available to the public.
(Added to NRS by 2007, 3150)
NRS 202.369 Regulations. The Department may adopt such regulations as are necessary to carry out the provisions of NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nevada General Firearms Laws
New postPosted: 08 May 2010, 23:08 
Offline
AZS Regular
AZS Regular

Joined: 05 Mar 2010, 23:02
Posts: 317
Nevada recognizes New Mexico CCWs now. I haven't looked into getting a New Mexico CCW yet, but if they don't require the firearm you plan to carry concealed to be listed on the permit, it sounds like a better way to go since you're not limited to what you can carry and qualify with.

Upate: NM does not have non resident CCWs. It might one of the reason why NV entered into reciprocity with them. I see a way for NV to recognize AZ CCWs now. Since AZ is now a constitutional carry state, non residents can carry without a permit, and DPS should only issue CCWs to residents for other states with more stringent reciprocity agreements. This way, no ones rights are infringed and we get more reciprocity with states that only recognize permits from states that issue to residents only.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nevada General Firearms Laws
New postPosted: 13 Sep 2010, 08:00 
Offline
NEWBIE! (<10 posts)
NEWBIE! (<10 posts)

Joined: 12 Sep 2010, 19:31
Posts: 1
How about the billy and batons in Nevada? Is it illegal to have one?

leather billy club


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nevada General Firearms Laws
New postPosted: 28 Nov 2010, 22:12 
Offline
AZS; Woohoo!
AZS; Woohoo!
User avatar

Joined: 04 Feb 2008, 09:11
Posts: 1566
Location: Phoenix
I guess I should chime in and report that I was pulled over in NV two days ago while CCW'ing. Cop got me on 160 near Pahrump with instant-on for 90 in a 70. I pulled over as soon as the lights came, though he had to pull a U-turn across the median strip. No point in making him chase me. Anyway, I handed him my NV CCW with my AZ DL and told him I had a sidearm in my coat on the back seat (SIG Tac jacket). He didn't care at all, handed my CCW back and wrote me. He did ask me why I have a NV CCW and I tried to schmooze and say, "because I come here a lot and spend a lot of money in NV...... and you guys stopped recognizing UT permits." He said, "Yeah, that's true. Sign here." He was pretty low key and was just out for the money. I was in a rental car with CT plates too. He didn't tell me to slow down or be careful, even said in not so many words that he was a tax collector. Anyway, not a big deal to get stopped while carrying there.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group